Student & Alumni Updates

Francisco Aldarondo, Donald Richardson, and Bassel Salka were honored at the North Campus Deans’ MLK Spirit Awards Ceremony & Reception on Monday, January 15, 2018. The Martin Luther King Spirit Awards are given to students, student organizations, and faculty members from the University of Michigan North Campus who exemplify the leadership and vision of Dr. King through their commitment to social justice, diversity, and inclusion.

Tarini Arte and Matt Ross have been awarded the Fall 2017 Andrew S. Crawford Award for Entrepreneurship Excellence for their work in IOE 422. Tarini’s project for the course was Harmonix, a consolidated guitar tool wallet with all the essential jamming tools, including a strap-on capo and slots for 4 guitar picks, as well as compartments for money and cards. Matt’s project was AugmentGolf, a smartphone app paired with augmented reality, sports sunglasses that display critical information to assist a golfer during their round.

IOE student Francisco Aldarondo has been selected as the winner of the Fall 2017 Joel and Lorraine Brown GSI of the Semester Award. The student body was polled and the votes were weighted according to several factors.

The Greater Detroit Chapter of the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers has announced Louis Goedker as the award recipient of the 2017 Irv Otis Scholarship. The scholarship is given in honor of Irv Otis, a very well respected past President of IISE GDC and the founder of the Industrial Engineering Institute of Research and Technology. The scholarship candidate must show that she/he is dedicated to the Industrial Engineering profession and IISE. Being involved in programs with their school and promoting the discipline of IE are excellent examples.

IOE PhD candidate Esmaeil Keyvanshokooh has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Seth Bonder Fellowship. The one year Seth Bonder Fellowship is awarded on a competitive basis to a superior IOE graduate student who wishes to study and do research in the field of applied operations research.

Sol Lim

IOE PhD candidate Sol Lim has received the “Student Author Presentation Support Award” at the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES) annual meeting. The award facilitates student author participation in the Annual Meeting, including presenting in technical group sessions, networking with professionals, and attending TG business meetings.

IOE PhD students Tom Logan and Tim Williams were invited to Seattle to mentor a project in the “City4All Hackathon”. The hackathon focused on generating ideas for how to make Seattle a city that is safe and accessible for populations of all ages and brought together local council members and policy-makers, data and computer scientists, and NGOs focused on aging populations. Among the members of their project team was IOE alum Henry Kendall. Their involvement came following the recent acceptance of their paper “Evaluating urban accessibility: Leveraging open-source data and analytics to overcome existing limitations” in Environment and Planning: Urban Analytics and City Science. They found it a great opportunity to engage with community stakeholders and better understand how their research can be used to improve city planning.

IOE PhD Candidate, Selin Merdan, has been selected by the faculty as the 2018 winner of the Richard and Eleanor Towner Prize for Distinguished Academic Achievement. This prize is awarded annually to one IOE graduate student based on excellence in leadership, academic performance, and research.

IOE PhD pre-candidate Hideaki Nakao has been awarded a Rackham International Students Fellowship. Nominees must have a strong academic record, be making good progress toward the degree, and demonstrate outstanding academic and professional promise. The fellowship assists outstanding international students.

Tauber Team Boeing

IOE Students Allison Ward, William Chen and Tamara Craven were all members of winning teams in the annual Tauber Institute Spotlight! Team Project Showcase and Scholarship Competition for 2017. The First Place team was Team Dell including IOE Masters student Allison Ward and the Third Place Team was Team Boeing including IOE Masters students William Chen and Tamara Craven.