Faculty & Staff Updates

Wanda Dobberstein, Undergraduate Student Advisor, is the recipient of the Fall 2017 IOE “Extra Mile” Staff Excellence Award. The award is given once a semester to recognize a member of the IOE staff for outstanding work. Wanda was recognized for working tirelessly for our undergraduate students in particular and for the IOE program overall.

Seth Guikema

A University of Michigan research team, led by Seth Guikema, crunches data on the fly to predict a storm’s impact on electrical infrastructure. Their models are part of a larger project that aims to predict the probability of power outages from a wide variety of events, including less severe but more frequent incidents like thunderstorms, heat waves, and blizzards. Ultimately, Guikema envisions a rolling model, updated daily, that utility companies could use to allocate resources on a day-to-day basis. Read more here.

Jack Hu, the J. Reid and Polly Anderson Professor of Manufacturing, has been elected a Foreign Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering. Hu was elected for his distinguished contributions to mechanical engineering and to the promotion of China-USA exchanges and cooperation in engineering sciences and technology. He was one of 18 foreign experts elected as CAE Foreign Members in 2017. Hu is a professor of Mechanical Engineering, as well as of Industrial and Operations Engineering. Hu is also the Vice President for Research, University of Michigan.

Mariel Lavieri

Mariel Lavieri has been named the IOE Department Richard Wilson Faculty Scholar. She is an outstanding teacher, researcher, mentor, and colleague. This is a very well-deserved honor and follows several other major awards that Mariel and her students have won in the past 12 months.

Mariel Lavieri was honored at the North Campus Deans’ MLK Spirit Awards Ceremony & Reception on Monday, January 15, 2018. The Martin Luther King Spirit Awards are given to students, student organizations, and faculty members at the University of Michigan North Campus who exemplify the leadership and vision of Dr. King through their commitment to social justice, diversity, and inclusion.

Jon Lee, G. Lawton, and Louise G. Johnson Professor of Engineering in Industrial & Operations Engineering, has been appointed as Editor-in-Chief of the journal Mathematical Programming, Series A (MPA). Published by Springer, MPA is the flagship journal of the Mathematical Optimization Society. MPA publishes original articles dealing with all aspects of mathematical optimization; that is, everything of direct or indirect use concerning the problem of optimizing a function of many variables, often subject to a set of constraints. This involves theoretical and computational issues arising in a wide variety of methodological and applied studies. Previously, Jon was a Co-Editor of MPA.

IOE research professor Matt Reed has been selected to receive the 2018 Arnold W. Siegel International Transportation Safety Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) International. This award recognizes individuals whose accomplishments include outstanding international research, innovation, and contributions to crash injury protection, crash injury biomechanics and crash injury design for all mobility vehicles, in addition to exceptional leadership activities that have made a significant transportation safety impact on organizations or on society worldwide. Matt is being recognized for his leadership and extensive work in transportation safety.

Nadine Sarter

IOE professor Nadine Sarter has been elected a fellow of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society. Election to Fellow status is an honor conferred by distinguished colleagues to recognize outstanding achievement, consistently superior professional performance, exceptional contributions, personal service to the Society, and other meritorious accomplishments by Society Members.

The IOE Department is pleased to announce that Pascal Van Hentenryck has been selected for the IOE Department Merit Award for the 2016-2017 academic year. The award is to recognize a high impact accomplishment in research, teaching or service benefiting the Department and the College.

Cathy Boblitt, Amanda Godwin, and Tracey Adkins of the Fall 2017 IOE Staff Social Committee

The IOE staff social committee helped IOE get into the holiday spirit with two giving campaigns in November and December. Members of committee collected gifts from the IOE community to donate to a family through Big Brothers/ Big Sisters of Washtenaw County. The committee also facilitated a food drive for Bryant Community Center.